Author Topic: What Are You Reading?  (Read 6413 times)

Guy

• The Resident Toxicologist
on: August 12, 2016, 05:18:58 PM
I don't have an original title. Sue me.

Thread about literature books.

I'm also open to the idea of reading books together. I don't know what people like, but I'm assuming the vast majority would only really be open to sci-fi or fantasy. In any case, that's just an off handed idea.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 06:52:19 PM by Loopy »

"As he caught his footing, his head fell back, and the Milky Way flowed down inside him with a roar."

theColonel

Reply #1 on: August 12, 2016, 06:05:08 PM
Nothing at the moment.

Do you have any recommendations? I'll read fantasy, sci-fi, or even boring old economic and software books.

Loopy

• False Prime
  • Administrator
  • I'm Loooooopy!
    • My Fanfic @ tumblr
Reply #2 on: August 12, 2016, 07:17:50 PM
I'm rereading my Full Metal Alchemist manga. I've never done a full end-to-end run before.

After that, my To Read list has Stephen King's "On Writing" and "A Kim Jong-Il Production: The Extraordinary True Story of a Kidnapped Filmmaker, His Star Actress, and a Young Dictator's Rise to Power" on it.

Guy

Reply #3 on: August 12, 2016, 07:32:52 PM
Nothing at the moment.

Do you have any recommendations? I'll read fantasy, sci-fi, or even boring old economic and software books.
Have you read Dan Simmon's Hyperion? It's pretty much my go-to sci-fi recommendation after Ender's Game or Dune just because it has a great narrative structure and fantastic characters. It also doesn't hurt that Keats is one of my favorite poets and there's an abundance of homage and reference to him.

Something particularly for you would probably be A Canticle for Leibowitz. The story is about sects of Catholic priests in the wake of a nuclear apocalypse. It's a riveting read and I think for someone of your background it'd be perfect. Here's the plot summary: